She Runs Illinois 2024! — Mary Beth Canty, candidate for IL House of Representatives, District 54

She Votes Illinois
6 min readSep 19, 2024

--

She Votes Illinois is pleased to feature Mary Beth Canty, incumbent, running for IL House of Representatives, District 54. Follow our series, She Runs Illinois 2024!, leading up to election day as we showcase and uplift the voices of Illinois women running for public office in the upcoming election, November 5, 2024.

Photo of Mary Beth Canty, incumbent, running for IL House of Representatives, District 54
Mary Beth Canty, incumbent, running for IL House of Representatives, District 54

Tell us about yourself

I have lived in Arlington Heights since 2008, and my husband and I are raising our two kids here. Before coming to the northwest suburbs, I completed my law degree at the University of Arizona and practiced in Las Vegas; growing up, we lived in Puerto Rico and various parts of Virginia, as my dad was a Navy pilot. All of that to say, I’ve lived in a variety of places, and I am proud to now call the 54th District home.

Over the 16 years that I have lived here, I have been a vocal and passionate advocate within the community. I am finishing my first term as state representative, and I have successfully passed legislation regarding early childhood, first responders, education, our property tax system, pay equity, and food access. Before being elected to state office, I was appointed to the Board of the Regional Transportation Authority and elected as a Trustee to the Village of Arlington Heights. Across these roles, I have remained vocal about issues surrounding equity and inclusion, supporting working families, and the safety of our community.

What are your top three legislative priorities you intend to focus on in office?

My top three priorities, as demonstrated through the legislation I have passed in my first term and the issues I stay involved with, are:

  1. Early childhood/education — I was proud to pass the bill providing universal access to full-day kindergarten for Illinois children, as well as the legislation establishing the creation of the state’s new Department of Early Childhood, which will streamline services for families and providers. I intend to continue working on policies that enable our children to grow up and reach their full potential by supporting our youngest Illinoisans and their parents every step of the way.
  2. Support of our first responders and public safety — In order for our first responders to protect our communities, they need to be equipped with the tools they need to do their jobs effectively. In my first term, I accomplished this by passing legislation that ensures first responders and their families have access to the insurance plans they deserve and that enables fire protection districts to save long-term funds for emergency and search and rescue purchases. I will continue to support those who make daily sacrifices to keep us safe.
  3. Public transportation — With the looming fiscal cliff, we must be creative in how we will reform our transit system to best meet the needs of its users. This issue will come in front of the General Assembly next session, and as both a user of public transit and a former Board member of the RTA, I have the insight and experience to contribute to these critical conversations that ultimately come down to the issue of equity.

What do you wish you had known before you ran for office?

I spent a lot of time preparing to run for office. When I decided to run for Village Trustee, I attended Village board meetings for 2 years prior to running. I spent years talking to legislators, constituents, and others before deciding to run for State Representative. I think that preparation made my transitions easier because not much took me by surprise. I have learned that the legislature does not run on a strict time schedule, so meetings and hearings can tend to start late or go long, depending on everything going on, and that takes a little getting used to.

How do you plan to ensure that Illinois continues to lead in promoting policies that support women’s health and reproductive rights, particularly given national legislative trends?

I will continue to vote in favor of policies protecting the right for women to make their own healthcare decisions and to access reproductive care. We have seen these freedoms limited at the federal level, and it is imperative we protect them in Illinois. As a member of the General Assembly, I have voted in favor of codifying access to reproductive healthcare in Illinois and protecting the privacy of women who travel here from out-of-state to seek the services they need.

What initiatives are you championing to address the overlapping challenges of racial justice and gender equity in Illinois, particularly focusing on policies that promote fair treatment, opportunities, and outcomes for women of color?

A bill I am particularly proud to have passed improves pay equity for those most impacted by the wage gap — namely, women of color. The policy will require employers to post pay scales and benefits in job listings to level the playing field. Job seekers can more effectively negotiate pay when they know what is reasonable to expect for a given position, regardless of their pay history. Transparency in the hiring process benefits prospective employees and employers alike by making the process more equitable and efficient. My work in the early childhood space builds on this policy, as we aim to address pay inequity faced by those working in the field, the majority of whom are women of color.

I championed a child tax credit, which will also primarily impact our families of color; research shows these policies help parents afford basic essentials — from putting food on the table to clothing for their children for school.

I will always vote for legislation promoting fair treatment, opportunities, and outcomes for those hurt most by outdated policies and practices.

How can the Illinois General Assembly improve protections for trans women against violence and ensure that unsolved murders of trans individuals are prioritized for investigation?

The General Assembly fights for protections for trans women in various ways. We have made it easier for individuals to change their name and gender on personal documents, including birth certificates, and we have mandated that insurance providers cover gender-affirming care. Policies like these in turn shield our trans neighbors from discrimination and enable them to more easily live as their authentic selves. While other states are revoking attacking rights of the LGBTQ+ community, in Illinois, we aim to be a safe haven.

When it comes to violence against trans women, I support common sense gun legislation, such as policies preventing known violent offenders from accessing firearms. We can and should ensure the unsolved murders of trans individuals are prioritized for investigation, and I support those bills filed by my colleagues to provide more transparency and urgency in the investigation of homicide cases.

Selfie photo of Representative Mary Beth Canty with her husband and two children attending a local Pride parade.

Closing comments

I think someone should vote for me because I know how to deliver for our community and our state. I believe that state government should focus on state issues, so before I carry a bill I do a complete review to make sure it is an issue that needs state intervention. When it is not, I work with the local community advocates and electeds to get to a local solution. I like to work on policies that will have tangible, positive impacts on the lives of people in Illinois, and that will always remain my focus. The 54th district is incredibly lucky, but that does not mean it is without challenges. Our families and residents struggle with high inflation, property taxes, and other issues, and I will work every day to ease those problems.

If you would like to learn more about Mary Beth Canty and her platform or volunteer for her campaign, please check out her website at marybethcanty.org. Don’t forget to follow her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Reach out today and help make a difference in the upcoming 2024 election.

(The information contained in this post is provided only as general information and does not imply an endorsement by She Votes Illinois.)

--

--

She Votes Illinois

She Votes Illinois focuses on making sure the political system in Illinois reflects the voices of all women and femmes in Illinois.